Notice: Undefined index: test in /home/todaytriangle/public_html/includes/modules/login.php on line 4

Advertisement

North Carolina Museum of Art presents

The Beyond: Georgia O'Keeffe and Contemporary Art

"October 13, 2018, through January 20, 2019

East Building, Meymandi Exhibition Gallery

Enormous flowers, luscious color, and desert landscapes. Georgia O’Keeffe pioneered revolutionary ways of visually interpreting the world, leaving a lasting legacy for generations of viewers and artists. The Beyond: Georgia O’Keeffe and Contemporary Art brings together a significant group of O’Keeffe’s works as the centerpiece of an exploration of her continued force as a touchstone for contemporary art. Viewers encounter paintings and sculpture by this founder of American modernism alongside works by emerging artists that evoke and expand upon O’Keeffe’s enchanting artistic language.

The hallmarks of Georgia O’Keeffe are seen anew through their influence on artists working today. The Beyond presents a conversation between some of O’Keeffe’s most important works and the work of 20 emerging artists, selected for their individual approaches to some of O’Keeffe’s powerful themes, including flowers, bodies, still lifes, skyscrapers, desert landscapes, and the delicate interplay between realism and abstraction. The Beyond introduces audiences to a new generation of American artists, providing a fresh look at O’Keeffe through the lens of contemporary art.

The Beyond is ticketed with Candida Höfer in Mexico, large-format photographic “portraits” of 25 magnificent interiors of libraries, convents, theaters, churches, and museums throughout Mexico. Höfer’s technical mastery of composition, light, and symmetry offers viewers a glimpse beneath the surface, toward the heart and character of each place." - NCMA

North Carolina Museum of Art

2110 Blue Ridge Rd

Raleigh, NC 27607

  • Tuesday, 11 December

    10:00 AM

  • Wednesday, 12 December

    10:00 AM

  • Thursday, 13 December

    10:00 AM

  • Friday, 14 December

    10:00 AM

  • Saturday, 15 December

    10:00 AM

  • Sunday, 16 December

    10:00 AM

  • Tuesday, 18 December

    10:00 AM

  • Wednesday, 19 December

    10:00 AM

  • Thursday, 20 December

    10:00 AM

  • Friday, 21 December

    10:00 AM

  • Saturday, 22 December

    10:00 AM

  • Sunday, 23 December

    10:00 AM

  • Tuesday, 25 December

    10:00 AM

  • Wednesday, 26 December

    10:00 AM

  • Thursday, 27 December

    10:00 AM

  • Friday, 28 December

    10:00 AM

  • Saturday, 29 December

    10:00 AM

  • Sunday, 30 December

    10:00 AM

  • Tuesday, 1 January

    10:00 AM

  • Wednesday, 2 January

    10:00 AM

  • Thursday, 3 January

    10:00 AM

  • Friday, 4 January

    10:00 AM

  • Saturday, 5 January

    10:00 AM

  • Sunday, 6 January

    10:00 AM

  • Tuesday, 8 January

    10:00 AM

  • Wednesday, 9 January

    10:00 AM

  • Thursday, 10 January

    10:00 AM

  • Friday, 11 January

    10:00 AM

  • Saturday, 12 January

    10:00 AM

  • Sunday, 13 January

    10:00 AM

  • Tuesday, 15 January

    10:00 AM

  • Wednesday, 16 January

    10:00 AM

  • Thursday, 17 January

    10:00 AM

  • Friday, 18 January

    10:00 AM

  • Saturday, 19 January

    10:00 AM

  • Sunday, 20 January

    10:00 AM