Notice: Undefined index: test in /home/todaytriangle/public_html/includes/modules/login.php on line 4

Advertisement

Hillsborough Gallery of Arts presents

Common Ground

  • Free admission

Paintings by Linda Carmel and Michele Yellin, jewelry by Nell Chandler, pottery by Evelyn Ward. July 23 - August 26. Opening reception during Hillsborough's Last Friday Art Walk, July 27th 6-9pm. Linda Carmel's paintings in this show reflect her thoughts on the current predicament American society is facing. "My work illuminates how women can help heal a torn community. This series points toward a time of compassion for all of humanity and a respect for the Earth. With a positive attitude and with humor, I offer my perspective to the viewer." Jewelry artist, Nell Chandler felt inspired to dig deeper into new techniques such as etched metal impressions on polymer clay, prisma colored pencils on copper, and torch enameling. "I wanted to push myself to try to combine these techniques to make jewelry that reflected the common ground of these seemingly different styles." Painter, Michele Yellin writes, "In life, what interests me most is finding ... a meeting of the minds and hearts with others. I create work as an expression of my own inner and outer life. Once I put it out in the world, I am interested in other people connecting with, and finding that what I paint, is part of their lives as well. Evelyn Ward is showing a selection of her twice-fired stoneware pottery; the decoration integrates representations of local native plants. Ward writes: "I enjoy making good, useful pots that someone will enjoy using every day." Founded in 2006, the Hillsborough Gallery of Arts is owned & operated by 22 artists and features painting, sculpture, photography, glass art, jewelry, wood, pottery, fiber and textile arts. 121 N. Churton Street, Hillsborough NC, 919-732-5001. Hours: 10-6 Mon-Th, 10-9 Fri & Sat, 12-4 Sun. HillsboroughGallery.com

Hillsborough Gallery of Arts

121 N. Churton St.

Hillsborough, NC 27278

  • Monday, 23 July

    10:00 AM

  • Tuesday, 24 July

    10:00 AM

  • Wednesday, 25 July

    10:00 AM

  • Thursday, 26 July

    10:00 AM

  • Friday, 27 July

    10:00 AM

  • Saturday, 28 July

    10:00 AM

  • Sunday, 29 July

    10:00 AM

  • Monday, 30 July

    10:00 AM

  • Tuesday, 31 July

    10:00 AM

  • Wednesday, 1 August

    10:00 AM

  • Thursday, 2 August

    10:00 AM

  • Friday, 3 August

    10:00 AM

  • Saturday, 4 August

    10:00 AM

  • Sunday, 5 August

    10:00 AM

  • Monday, 6 August

    10:00 AM

  • Tuesday, 7 August

    10:00 AM

  • Wednesday, 8 August

    10:00 AM

  • Thursday, 9 August

    10:00 AM

  • Friday, 10 August

    10:00 AM

  • Saturday, 11 August

    10:00 AM

  • Sunday, 12 August

    10:00 AM

  • Monday, 13 August

    10:00 AM

  • Tuesday, 14 August

    10:00 AM

  • Wednesday, 15 August

    10:00 AM

  • Thursday, 16 August

    10:00 AM

  • Friday, 17 August

    10:00 AM

  • Saturday, 18 August

    10:00 AM

  • Sunday, 19 August

    10:00 AM

  • Monday, 20 August

    10:00 AM

  • Tuesday, 21 August

    10:00 AM

  • Wednesday, 22 August

    10:00 AM

  • Thursday, 23 August

    10:00 AM

  • Friday, 24 August

    10:00 AM

  • Saturday, 25 August

    10:00 AM

  • Sunday, 26 August

    10:00 AM