Notice: Undefined index: test in /home/todaytriangle/public_html/includes/modules/login.php on line 4

Advertisement

Gallery C presents

The Art of Travel: Pastel Paintings from the Estate of Elsie Dinsmore Popkin

  • Free

Elsie Dinsmore Popkin (1937-2005), the celebrated artist and activist, is widely recognized for her verdant and vivid landscapes. Although she was born in Reading, PA and studied Painting at Cornell University (click here to view Cornell's profile on her), she was based out of Winston Salem, NC for the majority of her career. Elsie Dinsmore Popkin saw beauty in everything around her; she was incredibly curious and an ardent traveler. Armed with her pastel box and knowledge of several languages, she built connections with people and places around the world through a deep appreciation for beauty, and the shared experience of humanity. Whether it's a sea of flowers fluttering in the sunlight, or wind rippling the reflection of a boat on water, Popkin doesn't try to persuade her audience to travel, but rather, transports them there herself through an impressive ability to convey her own zest for life. This exhibition showcases works painted mostly during Elsie Dinsmore Popkin's extensive travels, including breathtaking scenes from Greece, Japan, Chile and Turkey, among other countries.

Gallery C

540 N. Blount St.

Raleigh, NC 27604

  • Thursday, 20 September

    12:00 PM

  • Friday, 21 September

    12:00 PM

  • Saturday, 22 September

    12:00 PM

  • Sunday, 23 September

    12:00 PM

  • Monday, 24 September

    12:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 25 September

    12:00 PM

  • Wednesday, 26 September

    12:00 PM

  • Thursday, 27 September

    12:00 PM

  • Friday, 28 September

    12:00 PM

  • Saturday, 29 September

    12:00 PM

  • Sunday, 30 September

    12:00 PM

  • Monday, 1 October

    12:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 2 October

    12:00 PM

  • Wednesday, 3 October

    12:00 PM

  • Thursday, 4 October

    12:00 PM

  • Friday, 5 October

    12:00 PM

  • Saturday, 6 October

    12:00 PM

  • Sunday, 7 October

    12:00 PM

  • Monday, 8 October

    12:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 9 October

    12:00 PM

  • Wednesday, 10 October

    12:00 PM

  • Thursday, 11 October

    12:00 PM

  • Friday, 12 October

    12:00 PM

  • Saturday, 13 October

    12:00 PM

  • Sunday, 14 October

    12:00 PM

  • Monday, 15 October

    12:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 16 October

    12:00 PM

  • Wednesday, 17 October

    12:00 PM